CIP Sales Tax

Capital Improvements Program


On August 8, 2023 voters will consider the continuation of the Capital Improvements Program (CIP) half-cent sales tax. The CIP has been in existence since 1989, and is a source of funding for major public infrastructure in the city of St. Joseph. 

Did you know...

  • The CIP ensures safe roads to travel, recreational amenities to improve the quality of life for our residents and visitors, public safety, and resources to maintain existing public facilities.
  • The 5-year CIP will generate approximately $35 million in revenue. Revenue generated will create jobs and stimulate business investment throughout our community.
  • The CIP has a sunset; voters must approve this half-cent sales tax every five years.
  • Approximately 42% of sales tax is paid by those who don’t live here but use our streets, enjoy our amenities and can call on public safety personnel when needed.
  • A 24-member citizens committee reviewed and selected the projects to be considered by voters.
  • The top projects include: a new southside fire station #10, safe routes to school sidewalks, infrastructure work at Eastowne Business Park, continued improvements to the Civic Arena, and improvements along Cook Road from I-29 to Bishop Road. Other projects include upgrades to the interior and retail spaces at the Missouri Theater, dedicated funds for street repairs throughout the city and upgrades to the 911 phone system. 
  • It’s not a new tax. The CIP sales tax has been in existence for over 30 years and has been extended by voters five times.

2024 Proposed Project List (PDF)

2024 Proposed Project Summary List (PDF)

CIP Projects 1989 to Present (PDF)

CIP General Information (PDF)

2019 CIP Information

CIP Project Schedule FY19-24 (PDF)

2019 Proposed Project List (PDF)

2024 CIP Committee Members: 

Lindsey Bachman, Winston Bennett, Jodi Brager, Steve Briggs, Mike Cazel, Tim Conard, Teresa Fankhauser, Pete Gray, Dale Hallman, Loes HedgeMary Herner, Doug Hutton, Rhonda Jacobs, Jay Kerner, Joseph Marmaud, Steve McCamy, Scott Meierhoffer, Steve Miller, Kyle Phillips, Kendall Randolph, JL Robertson, Dennis Rosonke, Carolynn Sollars, Ramadhan Washington

For more information, please contact the city manager’s office at 816-271-4610 or email Mary Robertson.